top of page

Animal house


From one Plymouth to another, and back again. The time has come for me to pack up my suitcase and hit the road home. What will I miss? Tropical climate, my numerous 'pet' animals that visit the house**, diving regularly... quite few things.

But I'm very much looking forward to a hot shower (not one in four months) and ne'er the constant threat of sunburn. I have a long list of things to eat when I'm in London and at home, as I did miss my favourite foods. And of course, the people. I think I'll still be living out of a suitcase for the foreseeable future though. I'm off to start my new reality, with much less travelling over the next few years, and probably much less disposable income. I'm not sure whether I'll be blogging about it, but I know there are lots of adventures to be had, albeit responsible 'normal' ones.

I've learnt a lot since I started this new conservation malarkey. Only 18 months ago I was still working in finance - now I'm starting a PhD and have published my first paper (read it... if you really like that kind of thing), so I feel quite accomplished right now. I'm still sort of moonlighting in finance, which I'll probably keep up on the side.

So now, back to Blighty!

** Pet animals that deserve a mention Barry - my pet bee.

Bob - my pet Turnip Tailed Gecko that lives in a specific pole within the forest.

Kitler - the cat that lives next door and has an unfortunate Hitler moustache, that stares into the windows at night in a sinister manner. All the geckos - I love geckos. Tiny little hummingbirds - so very squee.


bottom of page