top of page

Why so serious?


This week I was going to write a funny piece picking fun at my own levels of neuroticism. But I can't bring myself to do it in the face of this week's EU Referendum. So it's serious, folks.

I've been incredibly fortunate to grow up in a time when all my civil liberties are provided for. I'm a woman who has the vote because other people fought and died for that right. I live in a liberal and progressive democracy with universal suffrage, where I can decide on a vast majority of the things that happen to me. So it makes me pretty angry if you are British and don't exercise your right to vote. Perhaps you feel disillusioned and that "your vote doesn't count". If that's the case then a lack of awareness of just how privileged you are just makes me sad. I think the thing that is most worrying is that those young people who are mostly 'Remain' are also the least likely to turn out on polling day. It's the older generation that don't take these things for granted who are definitely going to turn out and have their say.

The reason it's important to me that we stay in the EU is because one big progressive union such as the one we have is better than the small economy the UK is on its own. Even in the very long term (following the economic shrink of at least 3% - see this link and summary above) we won't be " better off out" because the UK economy alone can't compete with mega nations like the US or China. In the short term, any "savings" made from not contributing to the EU will be completely wiped out by the contraction of the economy. We will lose at least £1bn net. So there will be fewer jobs and more cuts to benefits, hitting graduates, school leavers, the less fortunate and pensioners the most. It is arrogance to think that the UK as a nation is better without Europe. I understand the "Leave" campaign views, and respect their right to have an opinion, even though there is little hard evidence to back them up. I find it sad that a good proportion of the country can't see beyond the tactics of a few mainstream scare mongers.

If you don't understand the economic impacts of splitting with your main trading partners, think on this; Do you have friends, coworkers and family that help you get by? Or have you achieved everything in your life on your own without any assistance should you fall on hard times? Like myself, you may find that having a support network, like the EU, is to the benefit of all concerned.

I myself am afraid of what will happen. When I read and see more about the likely consequences, it makes me sad and ashamed that I share my country with so many small minded people. I'm personally at odds with the idea of leaving the UK after my PhD. I had thought of staying but if it's as awful as I expect, it will be heartbreaking to see my once great country shattered by fear, ignorance, and a long recession. The bigger person in me says to stay and change it for the better. But I don't have faith that enough positive will change be seen in my lifetime in the event of an EU exit.

Some people I know want to leave the EU because they want jobs for their children and grandchildren. This is the wrong choice, but for the right reasons. A contraction in the economy over the next 5 years, loss of key trading partners and devaluation of the pound will mean fewer jobs. It is true to say that economic models are not 100% correct, but they are well informed "educated guesses" by experts about the likely consequences of an EU exit.

What I'm saying is... if you vote Leave, or worse - don't vote, I will definitely say 'told you so' should you complain about your situation. I guess I'm not the bigger person.


bottom of page