top of page

On the road again


When I leave somewhere, I try to get rid of any coins I have by buying something rubbishy as a souvenir. This is usually at the airport, or at a newsagents if I remember. Its become sort of a challenge. I used to keep all the coins (for my collection... don't judge), but it starts to get heavy, and I'm very strict to my self imposed 30kg limit. It's probably quite a good measure of the economy in that country. Or how accessible tacky Chinese imported goods are? Maybe both. Perhaps this is a new feature.

What can I buy with one coin in...

Australia - $2 (£1) Nothing. Literally nothing. Even a small chocolate bar is $3. I hovered over a can of green tea for $2.69 but decided it looked gross. In the end I put $2 in the mechanical massage chair for a rough 5 minutes, but I should have just put it in the charity box.

New Zealand - $2 (£0.90) A magnet, but there was only one option for two dollars something, and all the rest were $6 or up. Probably quite a good one to keep but I gave it away.

Hawaii - $1 (£0.70) So much choice! OK, it's not a coin, but whatever. Back in a place where refined sugar is at a discount, I can get a can of coke ($1), a shell necklace ($1.19) and a whole range of tourist rubbish for under $2. I splashed out on a magnet. Might not be back, so at least this way I can rub it into my guests faces at parties while we stand around the fridge.

In other news, I'm sad to say that I leave Australia. It has been pretty great to be back at PlayStation for a few months, they have a refreshing attitude towards their staff... you actually get a life (not like some previous employers I've had, ahem)! Anyway, they've been really great to me and super flexible, which has been wonderful because, although being in London is lovely, having a sunny adventure and seeing places I hadn't got to visit yet is even better. I know some of my colleagues read this, so thanks again for being awesome people!

Today I arrived in Hawaii, but have been super jet-lagged (this could be my magical power). Updates to follow in due course, about cultural things I will actually do...


bottom of page