top of page

One man in his time plays many parts, his acts being seven ages

One year ago today, I had arrived in Mauritius and was starting upon the course of my new life.

Don't worry folks, I won't get any more sappy than that.

A whole year ago. Well a lot can change in a year. The main thing I'll say is that I made an awesome decision in leaving my job, friends and comfy lifestyle. I found a new, even better job, more great friends and .. well.. the lifestyle is pretty much just hanging out on tropic islands and jet-setting around.

Personal space: invaded

One year on, the Durrell Class of 2015 are all doing pretty well. It seems we all found our feet back in the real world after leaving Mauritius. I guess just even more proof of how brilliant they all are.

One week from today the SO joins me on a visit to Australia. We have some amazing things planned, and I'm finally getting to dive on the Great Barrier Reef as I turn Dirty Thirty.

After that it's just a few weeks I have left in Australia. A quick trip across the ditch for a conservation course with the New Zealand Department of Conservation and then off to the US on my way to Montserrat. New things are afoot!

Thank you to those people who have told me they read this blog - old work colleagues, buddies and relatives - I appreciate the nice feedback :) It is comforting to know when someone is listening to your random internet musings.

I will continue to keep you updated on my wonderful experiences.


bottom of page