top of page

Never say goodbye, because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting

So the research projects are handed in, but unfortunately this also means that the end of the course is nigh and a lot of my new buddies have left Mauritius. We have some written work still to do, but field work and lectures are complete. So what now for the class of 2015? A good couple have returned to wherever it was that they were. I am one of those few that are hanging on a bit longer and that means saying a lot of goodbyes. I don't particularly like the goodbye part, because I know I'll be "around" in whichever country at some point, and frankly I'm quite used to being away. Good friendships can be maintained through any means necessary. So, rightly or wrongly, I tend to carry on saying "I'll see you before you go!" until, I won't.

But I have new flat mates! As some of you may know I've now moved in with my lovely boyfriend (I know you're reading this so I won't say too much to make you big headed). I'll miss my

'little sisters' and our nice house near the beach, but the new place has more pets and a tall man to reach things from shelves! I'm trying to keep some of our sisterly habits by having popcorn when I can but the CSI addiction hasn't caught on yet.

Exciting things are afoot.

Although it's sad to see my new friends go, my wonderful WIFE is coming to Mauritius today! I get to show her all the things, and sit on the beach, and then on Thursday we head to Madagascar with my favourite potato Carlota! Hooray!

So more will follow on our adventures. Not much has gone on in the way of animals for me this month, aside from patting dogs and watching Olivier's fish, so I'll leave you with my top 5 animals of the week. A few of us went on a great walk/hike at the seven cascades in the national park on Friday, which is what you can see in the main picture above.

Best animals

1. This cat, trying to escape being smothered with love

2. These otters chasing a butterfly


bottom of page