top of page

Bat catching, and five things


This week in bat news!

I've found out some brilliant bat facts for you, but unfortunately I can't tell you them because they are too rude and hilarious. They are good ones though. We all laughed a lot.

Instead, let me tell you about Mauritius.

I've spent all week travelling around the country looking for bats, signs of bats, bat roosts, bat catching spots and bat food. Then we picked up 452 clams from the beach and made a hearty soup.

Five things that I didn't know last week

1. Town planners here do love a roundabout. I've never seen so many in one place. Every road from motorway to tiny track is punctuated by roundabouts in Mauritius.

2. Bat catching is relatively easy if you pick the right tree. Put up your net and wait in the dark.

3. The IgNobel awards exist - see link. In 2014, the prize for Neuroscience went to researchers trying to understand what happens in the brains of people who see the face of Jesus in a piece of toast.

4. Mauritian fruit bats have a wing span of over a metre.

5. I no longer have the bountiful tolerence for alcohol consumption that I did during my first time at university. A very sad realisation. Add to this that I now naturally wake up every morning somewhere between 6am and 6:30am without an alarm. WHAT IS HAPPENING.


bottom of page